Tags

AbeLincolnOn this day, April 14, 1865, while watching a play at the Ford Theater in Washington, D.C. President Lincoln was shot. A former governor of Wisconsin, Leonard Farwell, was also there, and ran over to tell Vice-President Jackson of the attack.

While I’m not related to Leonard Farwell (at least I don’t think I am!), I did have many relatives in Wisconsin during the 1860s and 1870s. I’m always curious to see what they may have been reading in the newspapers.

If you have ancestors from the Badger State, you may want to check out The Wisconsin Historical Society’s website. Besides the “This Day in History” feature, they have lots of records and photos. And newspaper articles, as linked above.

info from This Day in Wisconsin History
photo from Creative Common Photos of Abraham Lincoln
