gradcap

It may be a little early to be thinking about graduation, but this FamilySearch post from Jan 30, 2016 has me wondering:

Mary Elizabeth McNeill graduated from Torrance High School on January 31, 1936. Do you know who was the first to finish high school in your family?

Both my mother and father graduated from high school. My maternal grandmother graduated from high school and went to “normal school.” I think my maternal grandfather graduated from high school, but really don’t know that for sure. I don’t know anything about my paternal grandmother, and very, very little about my paternal grandfather.

And that’s it. I don’t know any more about who finished high school, let alone who was the first. Was it my grandparents? Or one of my g-grandparents? Getting a good education was emphasized to me all through childhood. So this special importance had to come from somewhere.

To tell you the truth, seeking an educational background on my ancestors hasn’t been on my radar, other than looking at the census boxes: Can they read and/or write.

It’s a fascinating question Family Search has thrown in my brain. One that has set me to thinking. And wondering, how do I go about figuring out who did graduate from high school?

What about you – do you know which ancestor was the first to graduate from high school?


Graduation cap from ClipArtBest
Quote from https://plus.google.com/+familysearch/posts/KfR54x7cvP2

