Family Tree DNA had a mtDNA sale last fall. As you probably know, mtDNA = mitochondrial DNA, or the maternal DNA. It’s passed from mother to daughter to granddaughter, and so on.

It was around November when I received my test results, but I haven’t had a lot of time to study them between the holidays and some family trips.

They’ve emailed me three notifications which say:

NewRelative

Understanding your matches

Your mtDNA HVR1 mtDNA test results can help you find new ancestors and relatives on your direct maternal line (your mother’s mother’s mother and so forth).

After you log into your kit, your first step should be to look for your closest maternal matches. You will want to look at their family tree and email them to find your possible common ancestors.

Two notifications said they found one match, the other says they found two matches. So they’ve sent notices about four matches total.

However, when I sign in to look at them, there’s two pages of names containing about 28 matches. I’m totally overwhelmed by not recognizing any of their surnames in my maternal line. So I didn’t contact anyone! I think I need more instruction or something….

Here’s my HaploGroup Migration Map.

HaploMigrationMap

The map is much more interesting when you can interact with it vs. a static map. I belong to the H1q haplogroup. H1 is the most common of the “H” group. According to Wikipedia, Mitochondrial haplogroup H is a predominantly European haplogroup…Today, about 40% of all mitochondrial lineages in Europe are classified as haplogroup H. So I’m not very rare!

My Ancestral Origins are all over the place, which isn’t surprising. But the predominant countries are:

  1. England
  2. Germany [ Baden-Württemberg (1), Brandenburg (1), North Rhine-Westphalia (1), Saarland (1), Schleswig-Holstein (1) ]
  3. Ireland
  4. Italy
  5. Norway
  6. Scotland

Nothing unexpected there, except for Italy. Not sure where that comes from, but if it’s in my genes, it’s in my genes. I just haven’t found it in my tree. And maybe never will depending on how far back it comes from.

After I’ve learned more about all the matches, maps, origins, and all raw number data stuff, I’ll post more.

If you’ve had your DNA tested, leave a comment below. Or if you know where to learn more about reading DNA test results (that’s easy to understand), especially mtDNA, please leave a comment. I need help!

