Tags

,

The live streaming sessions I was able to catch today were:

  • RootsTech Innovator Showdown Finals
  • Finding Elusive Records on FamilySearch.org
  • My Ancestors Are from Britain—What Do I Do Next?

The Innovator Showdown was fascinating. It’s described as: “Six eager finalists. Five renowned judges. $100,000 at stake.”

People from around the world submit ideas for new businesses related to genealogy, family history, etc. They culled them down to six finalists, and each had two minutes to push their product, then the judges took four minutes to question them about it. There were some really interesting ideas. The live audience (including those of us watching the streaming version) got to vote.

I tuned in a little late for the beginning of “Finding Records on FamilySearch”. But I still learned a lot of tips and techniques from Robert Kehrer. Hopefully this is one they post on YouTube or at Family Search. Would like to watch it again.

“Britain Ancestors” was also quite informative. Was happy to see it was presented by Myko Clelland from Find My Past, since I subscribed to them about five months ago. Learned more about collections I haven’t searched there yet.

Looking forward to the live stream tomorrow. Frankly, I’ll be a little sad when it’s all over!

 

