Tags

,

MD…at least it was new to me. If you have any doctors in your heritage, it may be useful to you.

An email arrived in my box this week from Legacy Family Tree about their latest program update. One of the things mentioned was the “305 new and updated Research Guidance sources” added in this latest update.

It’s a very long list, but in scanning it, this caught my eye:

~United States Deceased Physician File (AMA), 1864-1968

Quickly doing a Google search for it, I discovered it’s a collection at FamilySearch.org: scanned AMA card files from the American Medical Association (AMA). It gives date of death, and could contain a bio, where they went to school, where they worked, and what they died from. Maybe even a photo!

I became quite excited, as I do have a couple physicians in my tree. However, once I clicked on it, a little of my enthusiasm was lost: they are not indexed yet. BUT, they are listed in alphbetical order, by group. So no real worries, just a little extra time needed.

Never did find the relative I was looking for, but browsing through the cards was fascinating! Here’s a sample:

John Francis Edwards, M.D.

John Francis Edwards, M.D.1

And another:

Edward Homer Egbert, M.D.

Edward Homer Egbert, M.D.2

With a pic!

Edward Homer Egbert, MD

Edward Homer Egbert, MD pic and bio

A thrilling discovery if he were my relative.

Lesson I learned? Don’t forget to search under occupational directories or associations, something that had only briefly crossed my mind before. If nothing’s found at Family Search, other suggestions were OCLC WorldCat, or ArchiveGrid.


1) “United States Deceased Physician File (AMA), 1864-1968,” images, FamilySearch (https://familysearch.org/pal:/MM9.3.1/TH-1961-31284-18203-61?cc=2061540 : accessed 3 November 2015), Eberhardt, Werner-Ehrman, ED > image 1897 of 2988; American Medical Association, Chicago.

2) “United States Deceased Physician File (AMA), 1864-1968,” images, <i>FamilySearch</i> (https://familysearch.org/pal:/MM9.3.1/TH-1951-31284-24526-60?cc=2061540 : accessed 3 November 2015), Eberhardt, Werner-Ehrman, ED > image 2467 of 2988; American Medical Association, Chicago.

