NatTedBrDyAccording to the blog on Family Search, today is National Teddy Bear Day. How cool is that – I never knew there was such a day.

They suggest celebrating the memories of your childhood Teddy Bear. I did not have a teddy bear during my childhood, but I did have a teddy bear given me during my sophomore year of college. I don’t think that counts as childhood though!

However I do have memories of one when I was a kid. There was a teddy bear on my parents’ bed. It was an adorable “small-ish” brown bear, probably about 15″ tall. It had a bow around it’s neck and was quite attractive to me as a toddler. Every once in a while, I’d take it off the bed to play with it.

Unfortunately, every time I did that, I got reprimanded either with a swat on the butt (from my Mom), or an all-and-all-out spanking (from my Father). Eventually I learned not to pick up the cute little bear, not even if I was sitting on the bed and only wanted to play make-believe with it.

When I got older they told me the bear belonged to my Father when he was a kid. I couldn’t understand why I couldn’t play with it since he never did! But I learned my lesson at a young age: Don’t touch it. Do not even go near the darling little bear.

Both of my parents have now passed over. I still have no clue why the bear was so special to my Father but I’m sure there’s a story behind that forbidden object. Too bad my interest in genealogy and gathering stories wasn’t earlier in my adult life, before an interesting tidbit of my Father’s childhood was lost.


Graphic from PC Hugware. Lettering from Creative Keepsakes Creative Lettering.

