It’s been a while since I’ve posted. Summer is rather a hard time to continue genealogy research, what with trips and family and holidays and outside work.

FallBut Fall has arrived, and things are calming down some. Over the holiday week-end (It’s Labor Day here in the States) I received an email from Find My Past. Seems they are offering 75% off their yearly membership.

Normally $200, it’s now $50—give or take a few cents. Their offer is good through Friday, September 7. I was racing to get the subscription last evening, but upon reading the fine print I realized I had four more days before it expired.

Their offer sounds very good. They have over two billion historical records from around the world. I have U.S. Discovery through Ancestry, so I have no access to records outside the U.S. presently. Were I to upgrade to World Explorer + All Access, it would be just about as much for ONE MONTH at Ancestry as one year at Find My Past.

Of course I realize it will automatically renew at full price in a year. But oh what I could discover in a year (I hope). It appears there are articles and videos to help educate me. Joshua Taylor, their Director of Family History, is featured front and center in a tutorial. How can you go wrong with Joshua Taylor teaching you?!

I’ve been tempted to try their free Findmypast 14 day trial, but always talked myself out of it saying 14 days wasn’t really enough time to see if it was useful. Took me way more than 14 days to acclimate myself to getting around and learning Ancestry!

So, I guess I have no more excuses. I’ll claim my 75% Labor Day discount and see what new discoveries I can find.

If you use Find My Past and have any tips or hints, I’d love to read your comments below.

