Tags

,

MinusEleven

It’s -11 outside. I know. I felt it when I went out with my dog a couple minutes ago.

They say there’s a wind chill warning, but I didn’t feel any wind when I stood outside. Only peace. And quiet. And intense, bone-chilling cold.

As I glanced up at the late winter sky, a group of familiar stars caught my attention. Wait a minute. “Could that be the Summer Triangle,” I wondered?

Upon closer observation, I realized it WAS the Summer Triangle. In the middle of winter, the Summer Triangle was staring down at me!

It’s actually made up of three constellations: Aquilla, Cygnus, and Lyra. Denub, Altair and Vega are the three main stars that make up the Summer Triangle. Denub is in the middle of Aquilla, also known as The Northern Cross, probably my favorite constellation right after The Big Dipper.

I think to myself what a pretty sight to discover in the middle of a frigid winter night. And I wonder, did my ancestors, who spent a lot more time outside than I do, discover a little hope in their skies as they gazed upward?

I imagine they did. And somehow that is very comforting to me. Many changes have occurred since they lived on this earth. But some things they experienced stay the same for me.

Summer Triangle

The Summer Triangle

Sommerdreieck” by PietzOwn work.
Licensed under CC BY-SA 3.0 via Wikimedia Commons.

