Tags

, ,

gg-i-heart-indexers-smallAn informative discussion about indexing occurred over the past couple days at The Genealogy Girl’s Blog. This is not surprising, given her passion for indexing. I enjoy indexing too, but am sure I don’t index quite as much as she does.

Maybe not everyone realizes that indexing really isn’t hard. In fact, it becomes easy after you’ve done it for a while, even fun. The cool thing is, you’re always in control. You pick when, how, and how much you want to do.

I remember how nervous I was when I first volunteered to do Ancestry indexing. What if I make a mistake, I thought. Oh horrors, I’m going to doom someone’s relative to oblivion and they’ll never find them! Then I learned about arbitrators, and how each record is transcribed twice, and checked, so no one is probably going to go into oblivion.

Since then, I’ve also volunteered for Family Search. And Billion Graves. Billion Graves is super easy. If you can read a tombstone, and type in what’s on the tombstone, YOU QUALIFY!! They have around 750,000 photos that need transcription. Even if you only do a dozen a day, you’re helping people find their relatives’ final resting place.

Anyhow, my point is, it’s good to give back to the genealogy community. We all use the search box at various genealogy sites, but don’t very often stop to think how the ability TO search records happens.

Worried that you’ll do something wrong? Or that it’s too hard? Well, I’ve got the answer for you. Attend an upcoming webinar about indexing hosted by Legacy Family Trees:

Welcome to Family Search Indexing

Indexes created at your fingertips! Be part of an international initiative to index the world’s largest collection of genealogical records. This class will give you indexing background and basics to help you understand where to begin, how to help, and what we can achieve.

Devon Ashby from Family Search is presenting it on Wednesday, October 8, 2014. I’ve attended webinars of his before. He’s great.

Even if you are already an indexer, you’ll learn something new. At the very least, you’ll have a refresher course!

Details and Registration here.

Now go out and do some good in the genealogy world!

Indexing graphic courtesy “The Genealogy Girl.”

