Tags

,

Nora Marie Hudson was born on 1 June 1885, in Brodhead, Green County, Wisconsin. On 9 Aug 1899 she was married to Wm. Patrick in Rock County, Wisconsin. She had barely turned 14 when she married.

In 1900 she and her new husband lived in Avon, Rock County, Wisconsin with her father and mother.

By the 1905 Wisconsin census the family had moved to Prairie Farm, Barron County, Wisconsin. She has two daughters, Gladys born in 1902, and Grace born 24 Mar 1905, my first cousins 2x removed.

I can find no record of Gladys’ birth, other than censuses. Grace’s record of birth was found in Family Search’s Wisconsin, Births and Christenings, 1826-1926. There is a short note in it I’ve not run across before. Under Name Note it says: “Other issue. One girl.”

FamilySearchBirth

This second item was also found at Family Search with the same Name Note.

Family Search Birth

It refers to the same film number.

In checking with the Wisconsin Historical Society’s website, Grace’s birth comes up in a search, but provides even less information.

WHS birth

Wisconsin State Law prohibits the online reproduction of a complete vital record.

However this did provide a learning experience for me. I didn’t realize Wisconsin prohibited online reproduction of complete vital records. Apparently ordering the microfilm is my next option.

Can anyone tell me what other issue refers to?  I haven’t seen this before, so am unclear what it means. Is it referring to Gladys’ previous birth, or possibly another girl born the same day?

 

