Tags

,

After nearly giving up on MyHeritage.com’s free military records week-end, early yesterday morning I had some success. Evidently the trick for my relatives was to look back as far as I could.

At the beginning of my search process, I started with the Viet Nam War and moved backwards from there. Was back practically to the Civil War and nothing new was surfacing.

So I gave up….but after one day I was back at it again! And in the wee hours of a dark thundery Memorial Day morning, I found not one, not two, but three 4th-g-grandfathers who fought in the Revolutionary War. I ended up with 14 different records or documents or transcripts for these three ancestors.

The first one I found was David Jepson, born 5 Sep 1762 in Hingham, Plymouth, Massachusetts. I had “heard” he served more than three years in the Revolutionary War, but hadn’t gotten around to searching very hard for records to verify that.

Now I have evidence that he actually did serve in the Revolutionary War. The first record that came up was a pension file. The Pension Roll of 1835, Volume 1. It is listed as the most complete roll of Revolutionary War pensioners ever published.

Jepson_David-1835-Pension-Roll-Vol1

record from myheritage.com

I still have to look for column titles so I have some idea of what the info means. Their viewer didn’t allow me to enter a specific page to go to, just scroll forward or back one. That’s a lot of clicks from page 895 back to the beginning.

There was also this record: Massachusetts Soldiers and Sailors of the Revolutionary War, a Compilation From the Archives, Volume 8, published 1896.

Jepson_David-MA-RevWarSoldiers-Vol8

record from myheritage.com

Jepson, David. Descriptive list dated Northampton, Sept. 14, 1790, of men detached from Col. Israel Chapin’s (2d Hampshire Co.) regt. for the term of 3 months, agreeable to resolve of June 22, 1780; Capt. White’s Co.; age, 17 yrs.; stature 5 ft.; complexion, light; engaged for town of Chesterfield; mustered July 5, 1780; also, Private, Capt. Ebenezer Sheldon’s co., Col. Seth Murray’s regt.; enlisted July 14, 1780; discharged Oct. 10, 1780; service, 3 mos. 4 days, including 7 days (132 miles) travel home; company raised to reinforce Continental Army for 3 months; also receipt dated Springfield, May 10, 1782, for bounty paid said Jepson by Moses Dresser, Chairman of Class No. 3 of the town of Chesterfield, to serve in the Continental Army for the term of 3 years.

There’s evidence he signed up for the war for three years. I was also thrilled to find a short description of him. Seeing him described as 5 foot tall and light complexion gives me a little idea of what he looked like.

I also found another record of registration and two records about his burial in Vermont.

Jepson_David-RevWarSoldiersBuriedInVermont-pg46

record from myheritage.com

Searching in Find-A-Grave, I found him buried in Pownal Center Cemetery in Pownal, Bennington County, Vermont.

Using My Heritage’s free military records search week-end, I was able to find out more about my 4-g-grandfather. Could these records have been found elsewhere? Perhaps. Maybe even probably. Obviously with Find-A-Grave, it should have been easy to find, had I been looking. But it wasn’t a branch I was working on.

Because My Heritage gave access to military records over Memorial Day week-end, it prompted me to work on that branch of my family, and learn more about my 4th g-grandfather. For that I am happy and grateful.

Thanks, Grandpa David, for your service to our fledgling, forming country back in the late 1700s. You and your service are not forgotten.

