Tags

, ,

But there are thirteen of us. Do you think I’d sit down thirteen at the table, and on the thirteenth of the month, too?” Amy was very much in earnest. Her plump, good-natured face was actually pale. “I tell you I wouldn’t think of such a thing.”

“I believe there are thirteen. Rae Fletcher couldn’t come.” Priscilla had recovered herself in a moment. “But that silly old superstition, Amy. You don’t mean–“

“Yes, I do mean it. And there’s lots of other people who feel just the same about it.” Amy suddenly opened the door of the front room. “Come here, Ruth, we want you a minute.”

Ruth made her appearance, expecting to be consulted on a very different matter. Amy’s tragic explanation took her by surprise, and she smiled a little. “O, well,” she was beginning, and then checked herself, as the possibility of turning Amy’s superstitious terrors to good account flashed upon her.

“I simply won’t do it,” Amy was insisting. “And on the thirteenth of the month, especially. I wouldn’t have another peaceful minute all the year. Ruth, why don’t you say something?

Won't Do Thirteen
Such is one of the scenes from the book: The Girls of Friendly Terrace by Harriet Lummis Smith published in 1912.

The story involves four girls who live on a street named Friendly Terrace: Peggy, Priscilla, Amy and Ruth. When a new girl, Elaine, moves into their neighborhood, they find her a little hard to understand. Thus begins a series of mysteries along with good times.

Reading about the description of life then was quite enjoyable and sometimes entertaining. There were a lot of words I had to look up in my reader! Amazing how the words in general conversation or book reading has changed in 100 years. A great glimpse into the lives of teenage girls in the early 1900’s.

