Tags

, , ,

Our ancestors were very creative crafty people. If they wanted or needed something, they had to grow it, bake it, make it or do without. Sometimes their lives depended on how well they could improvise in a bad situation.

I certainly wasn’t in a bad situation, but I did need something I couldn’t pay for presently. While shopping a few days ago, I purchased a ball of Boutique™ “Sashay™” yarn on impulse. A dressy look was required at an upcoming Dinner Theater event, and this could take a mildly dressy outlook to the next level.

Red Heart Sashay Sequins Boogie

I watched Mikey’s YouTube tutorial on how to finger crochet a chain scarf. Looked easy enough. Supposedly could be done in 10 minutes. ARRGGH. Not with my fingers! The beginning was very rugged and disheveled. In spite of the beautiful yarn and lovely sequins, it wouldn’t dress up the outfit. I tore it out.

There was another tutorial on how to knit a ruffle scarf with this yarn. Started that, and really disliked the hugely immense ruffles. Ripped that out.

Was about to go on a shopping trip for a new outfit but remembered something Mikey said about skipping every three holes in this yarn until you have three stitches on your needle, then pulling two over the one, off the needle.

My eureka moment! It produced cute little ruffles, and before I used up the entire ball of yarn, it was close to 12 feet long. Called it quits, secured the last chain and tied the two ends together.

Before I went to the dinner theater, I simply looped them around my neck in varying lengths. Love the subtle ruffles and I still have the looping effect of the chain scarf.

ruffled-scarf

Money saved? More than I had to spend on a new outfit.

Received several compliments during the evening as well because no one had seen a scarf with such delicate small ruffles.

I smiled all the way home thinking about my female ancestors who made all their clothes from scratch, even their underwear. While I’m not about to attempt to make my own underwear, I do feel a small connection with all my ancestors who created their own clothing. Thanks for handing down those creative genes!

