Tags

, , , , ,

DoTheMath

A few days ago “The Genealogy Girl” posted “What Are We?” Go read it if you want the rest of this post to be understandable!

I read her post and flung my hands up in the air thinking, “Oh my gosh. That’s so overwhelming it makes me little head spin!” Math is NOT my thing.

But after a few days of spinning, the head said, “Hey, why don’t you give it a try? Maybe it will be interesting.”

It took me over two hours to do it and double check, but I figured out as much as I know. Had to go back five generations on my paternal side to find immigrant ancestors. On my maternal side it’s eight generations to find ancestors across the pond.

Due to the pea size area in my brain delegated to math skills, I won’t even attempt the fractions The Genealogy Girl accomplished! Here’s what I came up with:

  • 3 FIFTH generation immigrants: 2 from Scotland, 1 from England
  • 4 SIXTH generation immigrants: 2 from England, 2 from Germany
  • 1 SEVENTH generation immigrant: 1 from Scotland
  • 1 EIGHTH generation immigrant: 1 from Switzerland
  • 1 NINTH generation immigrant: 1 from Switzerland
  • 2 ELEVENTH generation immigrants: 2 from Switzerland
  • 2 THIRTEENTH generation immigrants: 2 from England

According to family lore, there’s Irish, more Scottish and German. But I haven’t sources for what’s been passed down, so couldn’t include it.

Some day when I get my whole tree into a genealogy software program on my computer, there will be a button I can push to see my heritage fractions. Until then, this is as good as it gets to answer the question, “What Am I?”

If you want to view your tree from an entirely different vantage point, read The Genealogy Girl’s post, What Are We, and see how she did it. You might learn something new about your ancestors if you do the math.

